[LIFE] A Proper Introduction...

22 June 2023

Welcome to my personal blog. You might have already seen my really short welcome message I wrote back in May, but I thought I’d post something a bit longer explaining what I’ve been working on since then and what I plan to do with my blog.

First, I’ll give some background on why I decided to start writing a blog. A few years ago, in college, we were told that writing a blog is a great way to show others (they were emphasising future employers/universities) your interests, and give a sample of your writing style. I had to write a post as homework, and decided to write a list of my top 10 UK Garage tracks. The list is still up online but I am not going to link it because I am a little bit embarrassed of it, to be honest. But anyway, that gave me a taste for blogging, and since then I have been wanting to write about something I enjoyed, online, for other people to see and interact with.

A year or so after that first experiment, I had the idea of writing an online electronic music blog/magazine-style website, where I would review albums, events, etc. and hopefully eventually interview artists. That fell apart because I really wanted to make the perfect website, decided to learn how to code in HTML, and eventually gave up because my website was crap and I’m not really a coder. I really liked the idea of writing on a blog regularly, and that eventually spawned the idea for the website you are currently visiting.

Now is a good time to mention that, although I wrote about music for these previous projects, I am no musician myself, although I do practice DJing as a hobby. I am a student and I study Drama and English Literature at university. I hope to write some articles about music on this blog, as it is a passion of mine, but I’d also like to write about… well… writing. My process of writing, interesting plays I’ve seen/read, maybe even some politics. This is the thing with my site: I want to keep it open, free of constraint, and write about whatever I feel a passion to write about. I feel like I have a mix of random interests, and am often greatly driven by them, so I hope to make this a space where I can share them with people who’d be interested to read about them. I also want to encourage readers to discuss ideas in the comments, as I feel a blog shouldn’t be a soapbox, but rather a platform to promote discussion and sharing of ideas.

Going back to my previous post, I wrote that right at the end of my last week of taught lessons for my first year of university. Right before my essay deadlines and exams. So that’s what I have been working on, mainly. I am now free for the summer, and hope to get started on writing!

So what will you see on this blog?

I hope to write about music, maybe in the same way as how I wanted to for my previous blog, reviews and the like. I’d also like to take a look at the culture surrounding the genres I enjoy, such as Garage, Jungle, Drum and Bass and Dubstep.

I’d like to write about Drama and Literature (my degree!): plays, books or poems I like and what I like about them. I also want to write about Film and TV. I feel like they often aren’t viewed at the same level as traditional theatre or novels, but I feel that they are still art and can and should be treated equally. Even sitcoms.

Hopefully I will publish some of my own creative writing – whether that be play scripts, screenplays, short stories or poems. I’d love for people to give them feedback.

And I’d like to write about essentially anything else that interests me. Whether that’s an update about what I’ve been up to, or to discuss something I find interesting in the news. No topic is out of bounds here.

If you have read this and want to read more, please stick around. I should have some new posts up soon.